Robert Cray is due to release his 16th studio album “Nothin But Love” on August 27th (UK release date) by Provogue Records. The album is produced by Kevin Shirley (Joe Bonamassa, Aerosmith, The Black Crowes), and features ten songs written by all four Robert Cray Band members; Robert Cray (vocals/guitar), Jim Pugh (keyboards), Cray Band co-founder Richard Cousins (bass) and Tony Braunagel (drums). The new album blends blues, rock, soul and jazz, with a lyric-sheet that examines the triumphs, fallouts and follies of love. You can check out the first single “(Won’t Be) Coming Home” above.

Produced with what Shirley refers to as “the dirt under the fingernails,” Nothin But Love was recorded live over two-weeks at the Revolver Studios in LA. The album features the soaring break-up blues of Won’t Be Coming Home, the jazz chops of I’ll Always Remember You, the soul-drenched ode to repossession that is Great Big Old House and the frantic ’50s-flavoured rocker Side Dish.

Robert Cray